Dear IPS Members,

I hope this finds all of you well and you got home safely from Baltimore. As those of you who attended the section meeting already know, I have taken over as section chair from Dirk Nabers, and I would like to use this opportunity to update you on a few recent developments regarding the section.

Let me begin by thanking the colleagues whose terms as section officers have ended in February for their commitment to and hard work for the section: Dirk Nabers (Chair), Can E. Mutlu (Treasurer), Meera Sabaratnam and Ann Towns (Members-at-Large), and Xavier Mathieu (Communications Director). My thanks also include Francesco Ragazzi and Ty Solomon who will continue to serve for another year as Members-at-Large.

1. ISA 2017

I hope that ISA 2017 was a big success for those who attended. Our section sponsored a full slate of panels and roundtables, and from my perspective the event was vibrant and enjoyable. That said, the political events of the last few months cast a large shadow, and rightly so. The conference was therefore an occasion for serious reflection, debate, and protest, about the organization's proper response to the selective tightening of restrictions to entry to the U.S., and the best way to remind the ISA's diverse membership that visa regimes vary widely. More on this below.

2. IPS Election 2017

I would also like to thank all members of the section for participating in the elections for the next Vice Chair/Program Chair, two Membersat-Large and the Communications Director. I would like to welcome our new section officers and to thank them for their commitment to the section:

Vice Chair/Program Chair: Xymena Kurowska, Central European University Treasurer: Anna Wojciuk, University of Warsaw Members-at-Large:
Ted Hopf, National University of Singapore
Marta Fernández, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro Communications Director:
Frank A. Stengel, Kiel University
Continuing section officers for 2017-2018:
David M. McCourt (Chair)
Ty Solomon (Member-at-Large)
Francesco Ragazzi (Member-at-Large)

3. IPS Book Award

Winner:

We are delighted to congratulate Alexander Anievas and Kerem Nisancioglu, who won the IPS Book Award 2017 for their book *How the West Came to Rule: The Geopolitical Origins of Capitalism* (London: Pluto Press, 2015).

Combining insights from Marxism and post-colonialism, *How the West Came to Rule* examines the emergence of capitalism. Contrary to conventional accounts, the authors argue that the development of capitalism should be understood not as an isolated European process but as a set of global processes, in which non-European societies played an important role. The book committee praised *How the West Came to Rule* as providing nothing less than 'a fundamental rethinking of the origins of capitalism by foregrounding non-Western structural and agentic forces in the emergence and and production of capitalism'.

I would like to also thank the Book Award Committee for their thoughtful discussion and thorough assessment of the books submitted: Dirk Nabers (Kiel University), Meera Sabaratnam (SOAS, University of London), Ann Towns (University of Gothenburg) and David Shim (University of Groningen).

Nominations are now open for the book award 2018, which will be awarded to the author(s) of the best book in International Politics published in 2017 (or late 2016). The book award committee will be comprised of David McCourt (UC-Davis), Anna Wojciuk (University of Warsaw), Ty Solomon (University of Glasgow), and Alexander Anievas (University of Connecticut). See the IPS website for a full announcement, including details of the nomination process and deadlines. The award will be presented at the IPS reception at ISA 2018 in San Francisco.

4. IPS Graduate Paper Award

There was no graduate paper award given this year, due to the small number of submissions.

Nominations are now open for the paper award 2018, which will be given to the best paper presented on a topic of international political sociology at the ISA annual meeting in Baltimore, February 2017. The book award committee will be comprised of David McCourt (UC-Davis), Xymena Kurowska (Central European University, Budapest), Marta Fernández (Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro), and Benjamin Tallis (Institute of International Relations, Prague.) Nominations can be made by author/s, chairs, discussants, advisers or colleagues. Please send the paper, with some comments of recommendation and details of the panel on which the paper appeared, to David McCourt at <u>dmmccourt@ucdavis.edu</u>. The deadline is **15 July 2017.**

Given the importance of prizes like the graduate paper award in showcasing emerging talent in the section, please do consider nominating a paper. I look forward to hearing from you.

5. IPS Website

Our Communications Officer Frank Stengel will be continuously updating our website. So if you have any suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact him. Also, please feel free to share your news, calls, and events, as well as teaching material, whenever appropriate.

6. ISA Governing Council Meeting, Baltimore 2017

As noted above, the ISA governing council meeting was dominated by concern about the first travel ban issued by the new U.S. administration. My inbox (<u>dmmccourt@ucdavis.edu</u>) is always open

for comments and suggestions to be communicated to the section or the ISA's governing council from section members.

The news from the council meeting held before the conference in Baltimore was that the council changed the formal rules of the organization on where the main ISA conference can be held. Going forwards, the rules now do not stipulate that the conference must be held in the United States or Canada. Given that future conferences are planned for the next six years, and certain practical issues were raised about moving ISA, it is unlikely a non-North American ISA will take place soon. But the conversation can and will continue. It would be my pleasure to communicate with the ISA council on your behalf if you have comments and suggestions about this important issue. It is my sincere pleasure to chair the IPS section for the next twelve months. I hope to continue the good work of my predecessors, and to continue to grow the section in size and intellectual vibrancy. I look forward to working with you all to that end.

Best wishes,

David M. McCourt