Dear IPS Colleagues,

I hope this email finds you all well. It was good to see most of you in Atlanta in March!

As preparations for next year's ISA are already under way, let me give you some important updates on the Section and forthcoming events for 2016-17:

1. New IPS Officers

It is a great pleasure for me, as incoming Section Chair, to introduce you to the new members of the team and to thank our former members for all their great work.

First, many thanks to Inanna Hamati-Ataya for her outstanding work as Section Chair. Although Inanna has not been able to attend this year's ISA, she has done an incredible job preparing everything in the background. I personally cannot count the numerous e-mails I got from her explaining issues to me and managing the everyday business of the section. We are grateful that she will be around for another year as past Section Chair.

Thanks are also due to Can Mutlu for his dependable work as Secretary-Treasurer, to Xavier Mathieu for his exceptional management of the Section's communications, and to Ann Towns and Meera Sabaratnam for their important contributions as Members-at-large.

Finally, special thanks to Christian Bueger and George Lawson for their hard work as At-large Members during the past two years, as well as to Tanja Aalberts, who has been program chair, section and past chair between 2013 and 2016 and has contributed immensely to the further development of the section.

Several new officers have joined the team at this year's convention in Atlanta, and I look forward to working with them all. Please welcome:

David McCourt (UC Davies), our new Vice Chair and Section Program Chair for ISA 2017, as well as Francesco Ragazzi (Leiden University) and Ty Solomon (University of Glasgow) as our new Members-at-large.

We are also very happy to have Ann Towns (University of Gothenburg) and Meera Sabaratnam (SOAS London) with us as Members-at-large for another year.

2. IPS Business Meeting Atlanta

If you missed the IPS Business Meeting in Atlanta, here are some updates on the Section (see also the attached presentation that Inanna prepared for the meeting):

- Our membership has increased from 652 in 2015 to 655 in 2016 (March update). IPS is now the 6th largest ISA section (5th in 2014). However, membership growth is slowing down or stabilizing – possibly due to the recent creation of overlapping ISA Sections (STAIR 2014; HIST 2013). Overall ISA membership has also slightly decreased in 2015 (GC report).
- 2. The 2016 IPS Book Award went to: Deborah Cowen from the University of Toronto (2014) for her book *The Deadly Life of Logistics*: *Mapping Violence in Global Trade*. Minnesota UP. The 2016 Graduate Student Paper Award went to: Jonathan Luke Austin from the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies for the paper "Theorizing a Parasitic Ethnography in/of Fragments: Use, Abuse, and the Body Politic Multiple".

3. ISA 2017 Convention

David McCourt will soon send you all the relevant information for next year's ISA Convention in Baltimore (February 22nd - 25th, 2017).

Program Chairs for ISA 2017 will be Andrew Grant and Joanna Quinn. The Panel Allocation Formula will remain unchanged: 0.3 participation + 0.3 membership + 0.4 prior allocation.

Please remember: Submit with IPS as 1st choice, renew your IPS membership and consider a section for 2nd choice that IPS has close links with (Theory, GDS, STAIR, HIST, ...)! Please consult the ISA website for workshop grants, professional development, etc.

Attendance at this year's business meeting in Atlanta has been rather low. Please make sure to attend the next business meeting at next year's ISA in Baltimore. It is important for the development of our section!

4. IPS 2016 Book and Graduate Paper Awards

The competition for the IPS 2016 Awards is now open.

Nominations for the *IPS Book Award* (see here: http://www.isanet.org/Programs/Awards/IPS-Book) should be received by **July 15, 2016**. Copies of nominated books should be mailed to all 4 members of the Committee (contact details here: http://www.isanet.org/Programs/Awards/IPS-Book/Committee). This year, we welcome David Shim from the University of Groningen as external member, with Ann Towns and Meera Sabaratnam as internal members.

Nominations for the *IPS Paper Award* (see here: http://www.isanet.org/Programs/Awards/IPS-Paper) should also be received by **July 15, 2016**. Nominated papers should be emailed to all 4 members of the Committee (contact details here: http://www.isanet.org/Programs/Awards/IPS-Paper/Committee). We are glad to have David MacDonald from the University of Guelph with us as our external member, and we welcome Francesco Ragazzi and Ty Solomon as internal members. If you have any questions on these Awards, please don't hesitate to contact me (nabers@ips.uni-kiel.de).

5. IPS Website

Our Communications Director, Xavier Mathieu (<u>x.mathieu@sheffield.ac.uk</u>), is continuously updating the IPS website (<u>http://ips-isa.org/</u>). So please send us your suggestions on what you'd like us to add in terms of categories and information, and ideas on how to make the website more interesting to the members and the community more generally.

Many thanks to all and best wishes on behalf of the IPS team.

Dirk Nabers, IPS Section Chair