Dear colleagues,

I hope you all returned home from Toronto safe and inspired!

For those of you who could not attend our business meeting last week, I would like give you a quick update on the most important developments in the IPS section and ISA organization. See also the power point presented by Ole Jacob attached.

### Change of IPS governance

First of all, I would like to thank Ole Jacob for all his hard work the past two years as Program and Section chair. Thankfully, he will stay on as Past Chair, so that we can draw on his experience as we continue to develop the IPS section.

Thanks are also due to Thierry Balzacq and Carolina Moulin, who have both served as Members-at-Large of our Executive Committee for the last two years. In that capacity, they have also served on this year's book award committee. Finally, thanks to Jens Bartelson, who has served on our Book award committee, and to Charlotte Epstein who has served on the Graduate paper award committee.

I would like also to take this opportunity to welcome our newly elected Program/Vice Chair Inanna Hamati-Ataya, and our two Members-at-Large George Lawson and Christian Bueger. Finally, we are very fortunate to have Rebecca Adler-Nissen stay on as Secretary-Treasurer, and Morten S. Andersen as our Communications Director.

You can find all contact details below.

# Change of allocation rules

The ISA governing council has adopted a new rule for the allocation of panel slots. From next year onwards, it will be calculated on the basis of .3 membership; .3 participation; .4 prior allocation. This means there are two ways you can help IPS to gain even more space in the programme:

- 1. please remember to renew your membership by paying the 5 USD for IPS membership
- 2. by having IPS as your first choice when submitting your papers and panels as participation numbers are counted on that basis

We are happy to inform you that our membership grew from 580 in 2013 to 615 in 2014 (just above the 4% growth rate of ISA). But the more the merrier (and more panel slots too)! Please encourage your colleagues to become an official member of our section.

#### **ISA-IPS listserv**

Please note that the list-serve has been moved last year. Unfortunately this could not be done automatically, so if you haven't done so already, please sign up again.

The ISA-IPS listserv (based in Google Groups) is the virtual footprint of the section. You can use the listserv to forward information about calls for papers, new publications, upcoming events and other

messages relevant to the IPS community. All messages are moderated and approved by the IPS Communications Director. One can become a member of the IPS list-serv by following this link <a href="https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups-!forum/isa-ips">https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups-!forum/isa-ips</a> or, if that shouldn't work, by sending a request to Morten at <a href="msa@nupi.no">msa@nupi.no</a>

#### **Awards**

At the Toronto business meeting the book award was awarded to <<Laleh Khalili (2012) *Time in the Shadows: Confinement in Counterinsurgencies* (Stanford University Press)>>

The graduate paper award was awarded to <<Claire F. Lyness, UC Santa Cruz, "Governing suicide bombing: Terrorism studies as governmentality">>

We are looking for nominations in both categories for next year. An email with further details will be forwarded soon.

## **Blogging**

With regard to the controversies on blogging and the draft ISA guidelines, the Governing Council decided to delegate this issue to the Professional Rights and Responsibilities Committee (chaired by Chris Reus-Smit), who will look into the matter 'from a clean slate'. This means that the option of not having a guideline at all is explicitly on the table too. If you have any suggestions, you are welcome to contact the committee.

## Survey

As outgoing Section Chair Ole Jacob took the initiative to develop a short survey to ask our members for ideas and feedback. You will soon receive an invitation from Morten, and I would like to encourage you to fill it in (only about 5 questions) so that we can further develop our facilities to the IPS members.

## See you in New Orleans, 18-21 February 2015?!

An email with information about deadlines and things to keep in mind for the ISA in New Orleans next year is soon forthcoming from Inanna. The same goes for information about guidelines for applications for workshops and working groups.

Please be aware that the deadlines for these activities vary. Coming up first is the deadline for innovative panels (15 May 2014).

If you have any further questions, or prefer to give feedback via email, please do not hesitate to contact me or the other members of the Executive Committee. We look forward to working with you.

Very best wishes,

Tanja Aalberts IPS Chair

#### **Contact details**

**Chair:** Tanja Aalberts (PhD, Political Science) is Senior Researcher at the Law Faculty of VU university, Amsterdam. Contact at: <u>t.e.aalberts@vu.nl</u>

**Program/vice Chair:** Inanna Hamati-Ataya is Reader in International Politics at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth. Contact at: inh3@aber.ac.uk

**Past Chair:** Ole Jacob Sending is Director of Research at the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (NUPI). Contact at: <a href="mailto:ojs@nupi.no">ojs@nupi.no</a>.

**Secretary/Treasurer:** Rebecca Adler-Nissen is Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science, University of Copenhagen. Contact at: <a href="mailto:ran@ifs.ku.dk">ran@ifs.ku.dk</a>

# Members-at-Large:

Tarak Barkawi (PhD, Political Science) is Reader in International Relations at the London School of Economics. Contact at: <a href="mailto:t.k.barkawi@lse.ac.uk">t.k.barkawi@lse.ac.uk</a>

Vincent Pouliot is Associate Professor and William Dawson Scholar in the Department of Political Science at McGill University. Contact at: <a href="mailto:Vincent.pouliot@mcgill.ca">Vincent.pouliot@mcgill.ca</a>

George Lawson is Associate Professor at the Department of International Relations, London School of Economics. Contact at: <a href="mailto:g.lawson@lse.ac.uk">g.lawson@lse.ac.uk</a>

Christian Bueger is lecturer in International Relations at Cardiff University. Contact at: <a href="mailto:buegercm@cardiff.ac.uk">buegercm@cardiff.ac.uk</a>

**Communications Director**: Morten Skumsrud Andersen is a Research Fellow at the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (NUPI). Contact at: <a href="mailto:msa@nupi.no">msa@nupi.no</a>